A Hint of Mardi Gras

mardi4f

So this past weekend Steph, Chloe and I went to Uptown New Orleans to spend some time with my dad and hit some parades. While waiting for my father to finish up some errands, we thought it’d be cool to walk around the Warehouse district and check out the sights. Sure enough, two blocks away, the Krewe of Carrollton was prepping for their upcoming parade. We got to walk along the many colorful floats and watch the krewe members set up their throws and make final adjustments to their costumes. One of the masked ladies was nice enough to throw Chloe a pre-parade stuffed bear. Word.

mardi3f

mardi1f

mardi2f

Once my dad got back to his place we sat awhile, had some local brew, watched a DVD collection of Michael Jackson, and then we hit the streets. After only a short walk we ran right into a parade. I’m not sure if it was the Krewe of Arthur or if it was the other Krewe we had seen earlier that morning. We took our time following the parade and filled a bag of kickass beads! Chloe was quite the target apparently. Here are just a few shots…(still editing between homework assignments).

mardi7f

mardi5f

mardi8f

Now the original plan was to watch some of the bigger uptown parades and get some great shots. But for some reason we thought it’d be a good idea to take Chloe to the Krewe of Barkus in the French Quarter. This is a parade that is solely dedicated to dog lovers and/or owners. The bummer of this idea was….this parade was terrible. Who really wants to watch someone else walk their dog down the street? They really threw nothing and sported maybe a few great bands. Sux. I felt bad for Chloe cause we did not rack up as many beads from this lousy parade. Here is the only shot worth a damn…

mardi6f

But fear not Chloe nor people that have noticed a lack of photos in the post. Last weekend I really didn’t have a great game plan for filling my memory cards. But I promise that this upcoming weekend I will score huge! We are going to attend Orpheus in Mandeville as well as the big papas in New Orleans including Endymion and Bacchus! I will destroy my memory cards as well as my camera gear carrying back. More to come people!

~ by ryantyrl on February 15, 2012.

2 Responses to “A Hint of Mardi Gras”

  1. I love the masked kings in pink.

Leave a Reply

 
