Food and More Food

Mandeville Lakefront Sunset - Home...

LA Crawfish

My trip home to Louisiana was fantastic! I ate and I ate and I ate. First meal was a crawfish poboy in Slidell. My body was exhausted from the drive….but my tastebuds were wide awake.  From then on it was everything from oysters on the half shell to Mellow Mushroom pizza with Abita Strawberry beer to a crawfish omelet from the Broken Egg Cafe in Mandeville. But the biggest and best meal was……a big ass crawfish boil! The guys who did the cooking were very friendly and were very capable. They said it was their first time boiling crawfish….but seemed to be pros. We all had bought three sacs of crawfish and the boilers put in the necessities…..mushrooms, whole garlic, corn, two types of potatos, cauliflower, large onions, mini onions and sausage. To wash it down we all drank Abita beer and Dixie Beer (forgot the water….). It was so much that we could not finish the food. Even Steph had to sit down cause she thought she was gonna be sick! Haha! Also…while there Steph and I walked the lakefront at sunset. What a beautiful sight! I could do this every damned day. Warms my heart seeing lovely Lake Pontchartrain beneath a gorgeous, mulit-colored sky. LOVE U LOUISIANA!

~ by ryantyrl on March 28, 2010.

2 Responses to “Food and More Food”

  1. Ahhh crawfish season……nothing like it in Louisiana! I can’t wait until my trip home!

  2. Every time I go it’s fantastic! Never gets old. Shame you can’t find good food like that here….

Leave a Reply

 
